Dr. Sketchy’s November

Attended some life drawing for the first time in a year last week courtesy of HOT ART Wet City and Dr. Sketchy’s Anti Art School http://drsketchyvancouver.com/. Our model this night was the lovely, lithe, and classically sartorial Voodoo Pixie.

This was the start of the 1 minute poses. You can see I began sketching fellow attendees while waiting for lady Pixie to alight.
1 min montage1

More of the 1 minute section.
1 min montage 2

Start of 2 minute poses.
2 min montage

2 min 3 web
5 minute poses.

5 min 1 web

5 min 2 web

5 min 3 web

10 minute poses.
10 min 2 web

10 min 1 web

10 min 3

10 min 4 web

Start of the 15 minute poses. I switched to oil pastel and ink on coloured paper for these ones.
15 min 1 web.jpg

The copier cropped the image, so I wanted to include a shot of the complete drawing. This is about 22″ high, btw.
voodoo sketch

15 min 2 web.jpg

Look it me, I’m Peter Chung! Ah, it was last pose of the night. I was feeling all punchy and arty.
15 min 3 web.jpg

I’d be re-miss not to include a shot of the genuine article. Ms. Pixie was a fantastic subject, and I really appreciated the tailored suit. It was fairly unique to go half the evening with a fully clothed model (absent the shirt and tie), and I enjoyed the different combinations it allowed. That’s me with the glasses– Susan’s drawing to my left. I’m going to get her to pose one day, too. Photo credit: Shary Contrary.
Sketchy's November

About James Lloyd

Cartoonist in Vancouver. Mildly non-threatening. Worked in comics on Simpsons and others, worked in animation on Rocky & Bullwinkle and others.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment